top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatanya

A Work in Progress...

The second poster in my series for #DES101 is a movie poster based on my haiku

My haiku is:


- Matsuo Basho


My first step in my process was to brainstorm different ideas for a title, and I came with many ideas: journey, still, limit, undisturbed but the idea ended up on was 'Toward the Edge'

The way I interpreted this poem was that it was alluding toward something, like an end or a halt, especially in the last line 'this autumn evening'. The idea evolved from a journey, from a journey to where?


The next step of the process was to come up with 3 simple compositions, to portray my chosen movie title. I used the idea of the edge of a cube, with the typography manipulated around it.








I then picked the one I liked most, and chose to develop it further, through a series of wireframes, aimed at experimenting with different compositional layouts. I chose the best one of those to use in my poster.







I started my design in Illustrator, first developing some text, to sit on the edges of a cube, but then I decided to use the view of the entire cube instead. As I was working on the cube, I began to think what would be displayed on the cube, which then led to the idea to create a globe, but in a cube format.



After developing my draft, I edited it, based on some feedback I received. I switched some colours around, and a gradient background to help make the cube pop more.


This is how my final poster turned out.







8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Designing an interaction for promoting sustainability.

For #DES240, adding to the work I've done with the statistic "between 2010 and 2015 3.3million hectares of forest areas were lost", my team has created an interaction to promote action and help reduce

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page