top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatanya

Designer from day 1?

As a kid, one of my favourite things to do was to design houses. My mum bought me a few 50 cent grid exercise books, and I would draw blueprints, plan out my future houses, landscaped gardens, and swimming pools in the backyard. I got really into it, flipping through real estate magazines for inspiration. At that point my mum had probably thought I was going to grow up to be an interior designer, or an architect maybe.

I also had this tesselations colouring book that I loved to colour in and design with, which taught me some basics about symmetry and helped develop my eye for design.


I continued to enjoy art throughout my schooling years, drawing and doodling for fun, doing some art projects my mum had found for me on pinterest.


Going into highschool, I took art as an elective class, and continued with painting all the way through to year 13. While I enjoyed it, I now wish that I had been able to take the digital design class we had at my school, as some of the projects my friends were doing looked so fun and intriguing to me, which made me realise I had more of an interest in design, rather than traditional painting and art.


Now that I'm much older, my interests have changed slightly, I'm interested in a broader range of fields: web design, game design, product design and more. I'm hoping that I can explore these further in coming years.


My long term goal for the future is to be in a design career, but most importantly one I enjoy doing, and makes me happy. I think its too early to tell for sure where this degree will take me, which field of design I will end up in, but I know for sure that i'm in it for the long haul.


References :


Pinterest (2020)


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Designing an interaction for promoting sustainability.

For #DES240, adding to the work I've done with the statistic "between 2010 and 2015 3.3million hectares of forest areas were lost", my team has created an interaction to promote action and help reduce

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page